

Minutes August 5, 2015

A special meeting of the St. Joseph Downtown Community Improvement District board of directors was held on Wednesday, August 5, 2015 from 8:27am to 8:44am in the Allied Arts Council conference room, 128 S. 8th St. Directors present were: Royce Balak, Teresa Fankhauser, John Spencer, Pat Dillon, Lee Sawyer, Bobbi Jo Hughes and Rhabecca Boerkircher. Directors absent were: Ron Barbosa.

<u>Call to Order:</u> Chairman, John Spencer called the meeting to order at 8:27am.

Grant Requests:

Allied Arts Council: This grant is to pay for another traffic box to be painted. Teresa Fankhauser explained to the board that due to the Missouri Arts Council Funding cuts, they had to take this program out of their budget. If approved, the next traffic box to be painted would be the one by the Ground Round. The request is for up to \$2,000. John Spencer made a motion to approve the grant proposal as submitted. Pat Dillon seconded the motion and the board voted in favor (5-1, Teresa Fankhauser abstained).

St. Joseph Downtown Partnership: Royce Balak explained to the board that the St. Joseph Downtown Partnership has requested \$3,000 to pay the commission for artist Grace McCammond to come and create a paint by number mural to be painted by university students as part of the Griffon Edge program. Griffon Edge is a community service day for incoming freshmen at Missouri Western State University to be held on August 29th. Royce Balak made a motion to approve the funding request contingent on the rest of the funding for the project being raised and approval from the Downtown Review Board on the creative. Bobbi Jo Hughes seconded the motion and the board voted in favor (6-0).

Other Business:

<u>Business Cards:</u> John Spencer inquired about getting some generic business cards for the board to distribute. Lee Sawyer said that he could have them designed.

<u>Adjourn:</u> Pat Dillon made a motion to adjourn at 8:44am. Lee Sawyer seconded the motion and the board voted in favor (6-0).

Respectfully submitted,

Rhabecca Boerkircher

Executive Director